Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Baby Showers: Gifts

on April 21, 2013

Baby Showers… Hmmm….

I decided quite early on that I did want a baby shower. Not for the gifts. Not for any other reason than to celebrate my incredible journey and how it’s almost complete.

I’ve only been to one other baby shower and I truly cannot remember what I bought for my friend, but I do remember having brunch in a restaurant and playing a few, non-traumatic games. There were no smelling nappies or eating chocolate spread from them. There were no “drinking games” involving baby bottles (although that is something hubby and I have discussed). It was simply a meal, a few quizes and handing over gifts.

For my baby shower, I didn’t want to be bombarded with presents that do tend (from reports) to be filled with the same things. You know 101 0-3 month babygros might be really thoughtful, but kind of impractical. So I asked guests, if they wanted to, bring vouchers as there are a few little things left on my “to buy” list. I did get a few little things though and I love them (a sleeping bag (not newborn!), baby wipes, nappy bags (I now have 400 which sounds like such a lot!) and other disposably things. I haven’t yet bought any “toys” other than a cot mobile, and one gift included some bath-time toys (I love bath-time playing!) and another a rattle gift set.

So I was very pleased that I didn’t end up with 101 babygros and that I got some useful and cute little things, but I did discover the night before that I’d missed out on a real trick.

I read an article comparing Jenna Bush Hager’s baby shower with the girl from the Saturdays and I instantly loved JBH’s idea: bring your favourite baby-book as a gift.

I wish I’d thought of it or seen that earlier because I would have loved for my nearest and dearest to each provide me with their favourite children’s book. It’d just be amazing. Maybe, if my post-birth baby-adled brain remembers, I’ll request that all first birthday presents be favourite books. Just today, my maternity cover brought me in her children’s nursery rhyme book and a Winnie the Pooh bedtime story musical book. I love books!

~ Persephone M

Links:

http://www.everydayfamily.com/blog/jenna-bush-hager-has-an-interesting-baby-shower-theme/

For up to the minute info: https://twitter.com/EliseM314 #ElvisIsComing

2 responses to “Baby Showers: Gifts

  1. tazdream says:

    Just catching up on yr blogs. I am a primary school teacher n always give a book or two and usually a baby silky/softie…. U know the little comfort rugs they can hold?! Wish i i could send u one of my and always the students fav books…..the very hungry caterpillar!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

