Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

37 weeks ago

on May 11, 2013

Although scans say my EDD was 3 days ago, due to having IUI I know exactly when I conceived. Despite my scan EDD saying I’m now in week 40, my conception date (which has to be within 12 hours of insemination) says that tomorrow is the last day of week 39.

In reality, I guess it really doesn’t matter especially as it is only half a week different. Having charted my menstrual cycle for so long though Monday became the day. It was the day I had the insemination, the day my period was always due and the day it was due after the IUI. And then it became the day I had all my appointments and scans.

I like the idea of Elvis being bang on that EDD, not the scan one, but the actual conception one. That’s the next hopeful date anyway! I keep giving him deadlines and he keeps ignoring them. First of all I simply wanted 2 days of Maternity leave, then wait until May, then EDD, then after I’d seen Star Trek: Into Darkness. Now it’s Monday.

At some point he’s going to have meet one of my deadlines.

Anyway, I realised that, 37 weeks ago pretty much right now (about 10pm on Saturday 18th August) I used a new medi-pen and took my final injection. It hurt more than all the others. It freaked me out more than all the others and it gave me a night of insomnia. But it caused me to ovulate all my ready eggs 36 hours later.

One of them became Elvis.

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “37 weeks ago

  1. tazdream says:

    Arent ivfers just amazing! We have our cycle down pat- to the point that sometimes i get frustrated that i didn’t look at the time my 2 frozen ones were put in as the dr was running really late. Now one or possibly 2 have decided to attach and i wish i knew when it happened! When he’s cooked he will be here! 🙂

    • Persephone says:

      I think we had the insemination planned for 10 or 11am. But the dr was running late (I was very stressed about it!). So anytime will be fine but monday am would be kinda poetic!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

