Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

To Induce Or Not?

on May 14, 2013

Yesterday was my final midwife appointment and she seems fine with how Elvis and I are. As she was listening to his heart beat he kicked and his heart rate increased, which is a good thing. I’d already read that they look for heart rate changes after contractions so I knew it was a good thing.

She said I’m looking healthy and my readings indicated I’m calm. I don’t feel stressed. Maybe a bit bored of waiting, but not stressed.

I was informed that on Saturday (Elvis, you got 4 days) I’ll get a call informing me of when my induction will be. And it should be booked for Monday. So, Elvis, you got a week! However I told the MW that I’m not keen on the idea of induction. I’ve done some reading and just don’t want to evict him before he’s ready.

Obviously I wouldn’t risk him waiting for him to be ready and by Saturday I might have changed my mind. I also declined having a sweep because I’m not sure it’d do anything and the MW agreed. If he isn’t ready, are interventions going to help?

If most babies come before 42 weeks then on Monday I’ll be 41+5 according to scan dates but 41 exactly by insemination dates. By turning down the induction, I then have a few days of monitoring which could be all the time he needs to reach 42.

In some ways I think that being awake for two hours Sunday morning with period cramps and lower back pain, still having infrequent but growing in discomfort Braxton Hicks means that my body is still preparing.

According to the literature the MW gave me, the first stage of induction is preparing the cervix with hormones. These prostins may need to be given for a couple of days and there are instances when they don’t work at all.

Stage 2 is rupturing the membranes once the cervix is ready. Which, for first timers, is followed immediately by stage 3 – another hormone.

This infusion of syntocinon is an artificial form of oxytocin which is used to make the uterus contract. Immediately you’re restricted slightly because this has to be done via a drip. Although the literature I’ve been given says you are still mobile despite the drip and monitoring.

Due to how induction works, labour can be shorter, but it becomes more intense far quicker. Some women then find they need pain relief quicker than they may have planned.

I appreciate that all of this is subjective, but then everything concerning pregnancy and labour is. It just all seems so forced and artificial and against every single thought I had about labour.

And before anyone thinks the best laid plans and that words are wind I am fully aware that plans don’t always work. Taking 4 years to get a child was not my plan. Undergoing simple blood tests and invasive surgery was not my plan. Paying for a cheaper and simpler treayment than free IVF was not my plan. Risking losing my ovaries, damaging my fallopian tubes, triplets and having to abort if there were issues was not my plan. Having hormones and doctors start my pregnancy was never my plan.

I adjusted all of those plans so planning against an induction does not mean I will stick rigidly to it at a detriment to Elvis.

Elvis has until Saturday/Monday to keep this decision out of my hands!

~ Persephone M

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

