Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Still A Parasite

on May 30, 2013

When pregnant the foetus is essentially a parasite, leaching everything it needs and can from the mother. And so far nothing’s changed!

Elvis is either suffering from cluster feedings (just not at the same time every day) or going through his days 8-10 growth spurt. Either way, I spent 3 hours in the night yesterday constantly feeding. And I mean constant.

After each feeding last night (otherwise known as the early hours of this morning) Elvis would go down for ten minutes maximum before signalling he was hungry.

Again.

Three and a half hours before I broke down and declared I couldn’t do it anymore. I was falling asleep holding him, eventually switching to lieing down feeding just because that way I could sleep. Even so I gave up after over 3 hours and handed Elvis over. Except I still got no sleep.

It’s now gone 11pm and for a little over 3 hours all that Elvis has done is feed. It was suggested by the midwife earlier today that after feeding someone should hold Elvis for 20minutes before setting him down to sleep; we’re not making it much more than 15 before the tongue’s out and the fists are in his mouth.

It was making hubby laugh before he decided to go to bed and leave me with Elvis.

I truly feel like a cow being milked for every single drop I have. With Elvis the leach taking everything I have.

To keep me awake, I’m set up on the sofa, tivo playing waiting for Elvis to stop draining every inch of my being. I really hope that he gives in before me, but I’m already feeling my eyes get heavier.

I really want this to be over now. It’s been 3.5 hours now. And I need some sleep!

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Still A Parasite

  1. morasmum says:

    Hang in there, you are doing great! It will get easier. Drink your water, and dont skip meals.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

