Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

In It Together

on May 31, 2013

You tell me that we’re in this together, that you’ll do anything and everything I need. Yet then you turn around and do the opposite. You abandon me and the clustering of a growth spurt for a cold you’ve passed on.

Then, as I reach a point where I dread every little noise, that it means another constant feed, you pull the hormone card and tell me to calm down without realising how hard I am fighting in all of this.

Threatening a move to formula because at 5am after over 24 hours almost of being a human dairy, is not gonna help calm me. It’ll have me walk out the room. But you try any of it.

Worrying about how the 3 hour mark is sneaking up and you’ve still not rested.

Worrying that there won’t be a weight gain.

Worrying that your son has a cold that has skipped you so how can you pass on any immunity?

Worrying that in over 5 years the midwife’s never seen two red breasts.

Worrying that promises are merely words because we’re not in this together and it’s all on me as you sleep soundly beside me with a finally sleeping baby and birdsong for company.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

