Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Sleeping When The Baby Does

on June 2, 2013

Aside from the false nap at lunchtime yesterday, Elvis’ first real sleep yesterday (not including the 20minutes settling in my arms after each feed) was as about 8pm.

I put him down and cuddled up in a duvet on the sofa knowing I had a maximum of 3 hours (including feeding time and settling so it’s rarely even 2!). An hour before the 3 hour alarm, I awoke and Elvis was still out of it. I used the opportunity to awaken hubby for ten minutes of quality time before we carefully brought Elvis upstairs.

He managed another half an hour before wanting feeding. That is where it all went a bit wrong. In a new, unforeseen way.

Honestly I’d planned how to stay calm and not lose it as I keep doing, but Elvis likes his curveballs. I was ready to deal with constant feedings, feedings being the only way to sleep and me potentially getting no real sleep. I was not ready for Elvis refusing to feed properly.

On the 8pm feed he went down fine; I napped on the sofa. At about 10 or 11, he awoke and refused to feed properly. His latch was weak and he was barely sucking. It was similar to before I took him to the hospital last week with concerns over his feeding. The suck and latch were just too weak – I could literally pull him off me.

A weak latch/suck is fine at the end of a feed, but not at the beginning because he’s clearly not feeding. And there was nothing I could seem to do. Sure, I felt slightly refreshed having had maybe an hour and a half nap right before it, but how was/am I supposed to fix this?

I can only assume he was so tired from his day of no sleep that he was too tired to latch/suck, but has no idea how to sleep any other way. So after ages of trying, moving back to the sofa out of comfort, I gave up and daddy spent a few hours trying to keep him quiet until there were more feeding cues.

So at 4am Elvis had enough energy to have a proper attachment and no one has slept since.

But we all survived the night in far better states than previous. Maybe there is some light at the end of the tunnel.

But it’s made with a dynamo torch that someone keeps forgetting to wind up!

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Sleeping When The Baby Does

  1. tazdream says:

    Am reading your ongoing baby sagas and thinking a million thoughts. Currently just over 8wks pregnant with morning sickness all day, every day, and wondering what would/will be worse! Morning sickness vs no sleep/baby feeding issues!!! Did babysit an unknown 4mth old for 24hrs last year and it was hell so know kinda what yr feeling…..but i handed him back the next day. Hang in there cause i will need you to say the same in 7 months!!!

    • Persephone says:

      Everyone keeps telling me this is the best time… hopefully it gets better (right???) And I’ll be like all those annoying people telling you that it’ll be fine! I’m sure everyone can’t be wrong. I’d just really like him to sleep a bit!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

