Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Anxiety and Waiting

on June 4, 2013

The health visitor came around today and said that we all seem to be doing really well. She also said that we can stop setting alarms for every 3hours overnight (midwives reccomend making sure there is a feed every 3 hours and that they can sleep through when they’re still newborn), that he will wake up when he’s hungry.

Literally the next feed I gave him (where he double boobed) he went to sleep for over 2 hours. When you add that to the length of time he’d been feeding, Elvis went over the 3 hours and my anxiety levels rose.

Until he pooed so I went to change him. And then he peed all over himself so we had to bath him.

For the first time.

More anxiety.

I’m now anxious over bedtime and nighttime despite last night being ok and me scoring over an hour of nap/rest today.

I just keep waiting for the next thing with my anxieties rising and rising.

~ Persephone M

4 responses to “Anxiety and Waiting

  1. abbiewinter says:

    Parenting isn’t easy, but it sounds like you are getting there. Well done on breastfeeding.

    I think the first time my hubby changed our little boy he peed in his face. Hubby wasn’t happy, were as I couldn’t help but laugh.

  2. diynavymomma says:

    My dude STILL pees all over the mat at 11 months. Not as much anymore, but sometimes. When he was a newborn it was every single time I changed his diaper he peed all over me and himself. Oh the joys!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

