Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Surviving a Night.

on June 4, 2013

The expressed bottle did nothing.

Maybe because it wasn’t enough. Maybe because my son is a greedy little wotsit.

On the positive (yes, there actually is one) after his 9pm feed (which involved comfort sucking that I hate) he settled nicely into bed. It was gone 10 at this point and he woke up some time before 12 for another feed.

I’ve already noticed that during the day his feeds are roughly an hour and a half apart. Except if he goes into a long enough nap.

I remember that feed not being too long (I watched half of Hollyoaks) and aside from a bit of grumbling, Elvis went to sleep quite quickly.

At one something it was time for daddy and the bottle so that I could have some solid sleep. By this point I’d had maybe an hour altogether at night, 2 hours resting in the evening and an hour from the morning.

Except by half 2, daddy needed me to finish Elvis – my bottle wasn’t enough and he wouldn’t settle for daddy. I had slept a little bit longer though and daddy stayed up with me to keep me awake.

Back to bed Elvis went and then he woke up at five something for his next feed; an hour plus of sleep there. I am still tired, but I don’t feel physically exhausted and drained. He can do 2.5-3 hour stretches overnight. It just depends on when his night begins.

I survived the night. Even better it was a good night after a good (albeit tiring) day. Fingers crossed for today and onwards!

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Surviving a Night.

  1. Valerie says:

    It really will get easier and babies DO start sleeping more (eventually)! Stay positive. 😀 How old is he?

    • Persephone says:

      He is now 15 days old and we’ve just had 2 nights in a row of “regular” feeds! He just needs to sleep more during the day so I can grab a bit more sleep!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

