Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

It’s Light at 4am

on June 6, 2013

Did you know that? It’s good to know really. Elvis seems to be about an hour out of the routine he’s had the past two days, but it might mean I get to go back to sleep until 7. Normally his 5am feed leads to being awake although I send him off with daddy!

Last night, as I started to actually have an extra nap, daddy suggested I go to bed early with Elvis and feed him in bed.

I love feeding lying down. But I don’t like it when all 3 of us are in the bed. Especially because we all fall asleep. Elvis and I going up made loads of sense. Unfortunately daddy came to bed way before Elvis started his night-time routine. This meant twice all 3 of us were in the bed.

Once hubby gets up in the morning, Elvis and I can have more down time together which involves more sleep for me. Unless he chooses to wake up and then be alert. Multiple professionals have reccomended bedding down for 24hours, but I’m not sure I could do that. They also keep telling me that I should do the night-time feeds in bed and not get up.

Isn’t it more important to be confortable?

~ Persephone M

10 responses to “It’s Light at 4am

  1. diynavymomma says:

    Have you looked into a co sleeper? It’s like a little bassinet that sits in the bed inbetween you and hubby, and has little side rails on it, so neither of you can roll over onto him.
    There is also an arms reach co sleeper. It’s like a crib but one side is open. It scoots up right next to your bed so baby still has “his space and you still have “your space” but he’s still right there and you don’t have to get up at all when he wakes!
    I’ve co slept with my little man since day one, and it’s really been a life savor. When he wakes to nurse, I literally just have to pull my shirt down, he nurses, we are both comfy and happy, and we drift back to sleep. Easy peasy!

    • Persephone says:

      I think they’d cost too much and our room and bed are tiny and cramped as it is. It was kind of all right, but now I have backpain from bad posture so even lying down to feed hurts. I am on the verge of giving up again.

      • Kayla Dickens says:

        That kind of back pain is normal. I loved laying down to nurse but every week I had a new sore spot. It didn’t stop me though. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Are you considering giving up bf? Or bed sharing?

      • Persephone says:

        I think I was considering giving up bf – I get very negative and weak willed when the moon’s out. But as soon as it’s day I become positive again. I do wonder how I’ll cope for at least another 6months, but not to give up! I need to find a comfortable chair, but my house is tiny! Bed sharing’s too scary a thought with us all so sleep deprived!

        Good to know the pains are normal! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kayla Dickens says:

        The night is always the hardest. I try not to make decisions if the moon is out. Hehe. I am currently nursing my 4 month old twins and I own a co-sleeper that’s attached to my bed. If they wake up on their own I end up nursing one lying down and fall asleep (bed sharing). But if they both wake up, I nurse them on a twin pillow I’ve got and put them back down.

      • Persephone says:

        I’ve literally just realised that one nipple is badly cracked and it hurts less to feed sitting up so I’m adjusting and adapting at the moment. Elvis is only 2 weeks old though. Ideally I’d kick hubby out of bed ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kayla Dickens says:

        Oh my gosh. That’s painful. Been there before. Just cream it up. And keep nursing. I say it takes 6-8 weeks to “get it”.

      • Persephone says:

        6-8 weeks! I’ve not even made it to 3 yet! Crap!

      • I’ll pray it goes faster than that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

