Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Confused.com

on June 17, 2013

I know at not even 4 weeks old there is no chance of forcing a routine onto Elvis, but I can try and work with his. And it had been working during last week.

Night-times
2300 – usually the last feed and then sleep.
0100/0200 – first wake up. More likely to be 0200, making a 4hr gap between feeds.
0400/0500 – morning! This would be a 3hr gap leading on to hourly feeds so would hope for the 5am!

Daytime
0700/0800 – first nap. In bed, both of us!
0900/100 – end of nap and immediate feed. Sometimes nap would end because he woke up or me.
1200-1400 – time to be out of the house. Elvis napping optional.
1500/1600 – 1700/1800 – naptime in bed for both of us.
In between these naps and trip out, it’s mainly feeding with occasional short naps but nothing longer than an hour. Before the first and after the 2nd bed naps, feeding has been constant or at least hourly.

Until last night when Elvis fed at 2000 and went to sleep! He stirred when I moved him upstairs (I’d not thought he’d go to sleep that early) but I settled him. He awoke at 0000 for food, then 0230 and then 0500. Colour me confused. He never does 2 long sessions overnight. And by long I mean 2+ hours as he only does them during the day when we’re in bed or he’s in a pushchair.

Now I have no idea if his daytime routine will be the same and I’d made plans around his desired timetable. Is this just a sign of his tummy getting bigger? Or of him trying to screw with me?

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Confused.com

  1. diynavymomma says:

    It’s so true when they say that these babies change every single day! What worked yesterday doesn’t work today. Sleep time? Forever changing. Slept 8 hours last night, 2 tonight, so on so forth. Once you get used to something, bam, they change it up! These little humans have quite the sense of humor, for little humans! Lol.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

