Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

No Longer a Newborn?

on June 18, 2013

As Elvis is now a whole 28 days old, I’ve decided that he’s no longer a newborn. He’s now in the 0-3 months category.

When I was trying to work out how long newborn lasts for, Google didn’t help much. Some search results said 28 days, others 6-8 weeks and others 3 months. I picked the 28 days definition as it also fits with him starting to outgrow his newborn clothes (some are up to 9lb, which he’s bigger than).

Does that mean I can simply call him baby?

Or does it not really matter or make any difference?

I went to a breastfeeding drop in group today and I really did find it amazing that, firstly, 4 month old babies are massive, and, secondly, how easy attachment becomes. In 4 weeks I’ve already noticed how much easier it’s become, but all the other mums nade it look positively simple. There was even one mum who’s simultaneously feeding her 18 month and 4 month old! It was really odd to see a toddler sitting up to feed.

The weirdest thing, to me, was that everyone was feeding their babies whilst there. I’ve only ever really seen 2 people breastfeed before and they weren’t at the same time. There were 4 or 5 mothers all feeding at the same time. I think it struck me as odd that they all needed feeding during the group.

Whilst attending was good, it probably wasn’t the wisest thing as I got so little night-time sleep due to Elvis’ noises and cut my morning nap short to get to the group. Although Elvis and I both woke up starving. I then missed my afternoon nap because Elvis fell asleep in puschair at the wrong time and I decided against waking him.

In the past 24 hours I’ve had maybe 4 hours of sleep and tonight’s too hot again. Fingers crossed Elvis is quiet tonight, but at least I know I can sleep with him on me. It’s just hot!

Here’s hoping for a quiet night from my month old baby!

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “No Longer a Newborn?

  1. mhaggerton says:

    I’m not sure I can help on the newborn part.. Muffin is going on 8 months old and I’m pretty sure I’m in denial she can’t fit into 3 month clothes still 🙂 up to 3 months I like to call it the fourth trimester.. So, to me a baby would still be a newbie in my book. I love all the breastfeeding too! I still nurse Lovey who is 27 months old, but not at the same time as muffin.. I’ve only attempted that two times.. It will be more natural once your baby gets to be older.. 18 months still seems so little to me.. Not newborn little, but still just a baby 🙂

    • Persephone says:

      At the moment the 4 month olds seem massive and non-baby-like but when my mum fostered a 2yr old he was still a baby. Guess its all perspective. I can’t imagine bf two – well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

