Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Sometimes, I Just Don’t Know

on June 21, 2013

Last night hubby went straight on the sofa so I could have Elvis on me for the long sleep, which was fine until 0100 when he awoke for a feed and then refused to settle.

I ended up taking a time out in the bathroom trying to calm myself.

Hubby woke up, helped calm us both and then got back into bed for the rest of the night. It dawned on me regarding my sleep options that moving Elvis into his own room and me getting up to feed isn’t that different to now when I have to go into the nursery to change him!

Anyway, I bought a fan today which will hopefully cool the bedroom and provide me with enough white noise. Because today and yesterday I’ve felt so rested. There was a sneaky 2hr nap this afternoon for both of us! The nap was after Elvis’ first photo shoot whrre he was amazingly cute, smiley and well-behaved. I get to view the images next Friday. Five come as part of the package, how many extras will I buy?

After our nap though, I played with Elvis for a bit – singing on his jungle gym and smiling lots. But after a while… I get bored. Is that so terrible? And then I don’t know what to do. When can he amuse himself? He likes just staring at things, am I a bad parent if I let him?

I think he just has these fussy moments where he needs to be held and then what? How do I stop feeling bored? Or at least just get a little bit of time to myself? Am I already failing him?

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Sometimes, I Just Don’t Know

  1. Valerie says:

    You’re doing FINE. Huge *hugs*! When you get bored like that, try going about your business (housework, computer, whatever) and just include him in it. When my oldest (now 13) was a baby and it was just her and me, I’d talk to her soooo much. I’d be doing laundry or watching a movie, but I’d talk about what I was doing or what we (I) was seeing. You do not have to “play” or “entertain” a baby all the time.
    That being said, have you looked on Pinterest for baby activities? I am amazed at the ideas people have! Also, check out this board on Baby Whisperer: http://www.babywhispererforums.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=3a1456e95b846904a60f5786604b460d&board=2.0 Some great ones there! And you might like to join that community so you can ask questions to been there done that moms. 😀

    • Persephone says:

      Thank you for your wonderful comments and advice, I’ve checked out your links! He’s feeding fine, I just like to worry/panic. Even with 4-5hr gaps overnight I still wake up pretty “full” and then soften so he must be draining them :-). It’s certainly getting easier; we didn’t get out of bed until 8am this morning!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

