Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Struggling

on June 26, 2013

I am so tired and everything is such a struggle. He barely sleeps so I barely sleep. I’d developed the ability to actually do things – 5 minute clean, wash up, put the washing on. Now I don’t even time to sleep.

I’m really not sure how much I can cope with and, although I’m calmer than earlier, I’m really not sure I’m meant to be a parent.

There’s a reason why I couldn’t conceive naturally.

Things are only seeming a bit better right now because he’s asleep on me (I daren’t put him down) and the health visitor just left. He’s jumped up a percentile, hence why he needs boobie so often.

And she’s worried about me.

~ Persephone M

7 responses to “Struggling

  1. It is normal. Oh so normal. Just know you’re not alone. It’s 3AM here and I’ve been up with screaming twins that woke up my 2 year old (they have a headcold ). And I’m alone. My husband is out of town. And I’m tired. And I want to be sleeping. I haven’t slept for years.

    • Persephone says:

      He was asleep until I tried moving us to my bed (didn’t want to risk me falling asleep on the sofa) and now he’s wide eyed and I’m in hysterics again.

      • šŸ˜¦ with my son. he did not sleep anywhere but my chest. I tried soooo hard to put him down but he’d cry. I’d have to sleep in a chair. He slept on my chest until he was about 2 months old and then right next to me from then until pretty much now. šŸ˜‰
        The only thing that helped was time. That doesn’t sound encouraging, I know.

      • Sometimes sleeping on the sofa is the only option. It’s okay. It really is.

      • Persephone says:

        But everyone tells you not to (and in the chair) but then he shouldn’t be sleeping on me at all. I get so worried about breaking the SIDS rules!

  2. Oh and the subject of sleep will RULE your life for awhile.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

