Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Noticing the Small Things

on July 5, 2013

Firstly, I am loving my new tablet, the keys are bigger when I’m blogging so there should be fewer typos and I don’t keep missing the ‘space’ bar.

The other day I bought a second cot mobile, this one from a nearby second hand shop. Yes, I know he doesn’t need two. No, I’m not going sleep deprived crazy. I wanted one that isn’t wind up and that also reaches over the changing table. And that’s what I got.
It’s nice and colourful with three classical music songs. I wanted a new one because it does annoy me having to wind up the Pirate Puppy one and I noticed Elvis staring into space on the changing table. He stares into space a lot (normal or freak?) which he seems to enjoy, but I thought that something which could hold his attention during frequent nappy changes would be handy.

And boy can it keep his attention! Yesterday morning after two nights of pretty much no sleep (I hate insomnia) I put him in his cot under the mobile as I needed to do something and then noticed he seemed quite happy. So I laid down! Our two bed house is, as a two bed, pretty small and how I arranged the nursery means that from one half of my bed, with both doors open, you see straight into the  cot. I rested my eyes for just over ten minutes before he started getting antsy.

I’ve also noticed he can amuse himself on his play gym for a short while as I do chores around him. It’s refreshing not having to wait until he falls asleep and then trying to decide between chores or a nap myself. Don’t get me wrong I still play with him on the gym or in his chair, not so much with his mobile, but I also give him the time to play and learn on his own.

I’m just amazed at how it sort of just happened one morning and now that I’ve caught up on two nights of awful sleep I can appreciate those independent play moments. During them today I sorted out paperwork for selling my other flat, washed up, put clean clothes away, put washing on and went to the toilet (remember a post the other week about him screaming as I tried to wee?). It’s only a small thing, but it feels massive.

Night-times, well they’re still an issue to work around!

~ Persephone M

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

