Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Damn Fucking Insomnia

on July 12, 2013

I’d finally made plans for today for both of us. I was going to have lunch with a friend after attending a Sure Start Centre that’s due to close but has far nicer people than the other centres I’ve attended.

Well Elvis took ages to go to sleep last night. I stayed calm. By 11 he was asleep. I wasn’t, I stayed calm. At 3 he started to wake up, I was still wide awake and calm. I called hubby up at 4 hoping his presence would calm me. It did and I fell asleep to be awoken at 5 by a hungry son.

Now, after a bit of sleep, I feel worse. I’ve moved to the sofa for his feed, hoping he falls asleep and the TV helps me to sleep. If we both sleep then I will consider attending the center in the hopes that Elvis stays awake there.

Then we can be home by lunch and go back to sleep. I can manage nights awake, but not the day after when I wanted to do things for us. Especially when, as it wasn’t him that kept me awake, he might not want to sleep today.

Help!

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Damn Fucking Insomnia

  1. This happened to me too! It was like, “FINALLY you’re asleep! I am so proud that you’re asleep but I’m also so frustrated it took you so long to fall asleep. I’m tired but dang, I want some “me” time too.” I remember my heart racing as I laid in the dark. Damn insomnia!

    • Persephone says:

      Thankfully last night I stayed calm as I lay there awake. Until 5am when I finally got tired. Then managed 2 hours and went out! So I got to do what I wanted. Yay me! I think Elvis only sleeps so well because I’m right there. Don’t feel too bad at the moment!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

