Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Successful Session

on July 12, 2013

Okay, after the 5am feed on the sofa (theory being the TV might help me sleep) I set an alarm for 8 to give me time to get us both ready for a Sure Start  entire session. It was a baby massage class for just 5 people, free but bookable in advance. I really wanted to go and decided after my insomnia that if I managed to sleep until 8 I’d go.

Well the alarm went off and I was happy sleeping so ignored it, thinking sod the massage.

Half an hour later I found myself awake again and I thought, 40 minutes to feed us both, dress us both and change him. And he was such a good boy that he fed in under 20minutes giving us plenty of time.

Into the baby carrier he went and off we went. I hadn’t cleaned my teeth, but since when has my oral hygiene been important? I suddenly have some sympathy for a friend who never cleaned or washed herself.

It was the centre with nicer groups and people than the bigger one and this time Elvis wasn’t the youngest attendee; there was a baby almost two weeks younger who had loads more hair! His mum and I had a good old natter after the massaging when the other, older and more mobile babies played. During the massage, Elvis was fine on his back as I coated his legs and chest in olive oil. He’d started to suck his thumb after a while so massaging his arms was impossible. He let me massage his back a little bit as he held his head high, but then he got tired and wanted his thumb back. Upon rolling him back on to his back, Elvis promptly weed all over the towel the centre kindly lent us.

Once he was calmer and I’d dressed him again, we went and made foot and hand imprints which he uncurled his hand for. I’m going to pick them up next Friday.

I’m so glad I went, and two hours after the session ended and I came home, Elvis is asleep on my chest and I have the choice to eat my cooled down lunch or lie down. Honestly, I don’t know which option is best.

~ Persephone M

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

