Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Positive Post

on July 20, 2013

I thought after my last few posts and a few good days (although I have been so tired today) that I would kinda do a sort of update of positive things. A lot of my posts have mentioned all of the problems I’ve encountered on the past 8 weeks. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned when those things have stopped or got better.

Nipple pain – I get occasional latch on pain, or when he’s being fussy, but the constant aches and pains are gone. I don’t use lanisoh all the time. I don’t always air dry. They have adapted.

Breast feeding at night – I basically don’t truly wake up. He stirs, I pop to the loo, rearrange the pillows, pick him up, latch, prop him and my arms with my legs, wait until he’s done. I put my head back and daydream or even doze. Whereas in the early days I needed to blog to stay awake, now blogging/twitter/Facebook wakes me up! I noticed this within the past week.

Bed sharing – I’m still doing it and I definitely will as long as this heat wave continues and as long as it makes it easier for nighttime feeding. I’m not scared of what people think of me for doing it, I’m no longer worried about the dangers because I’ve done my research – it doesn’t make me a bad or less capable parent. I have no idea how I’ll stop when I decide I need/want to.

Insomnia – I still get it for a few hours most nights. I just lie there calmly.

Daytime naps – I try to have one every other day but I can go a day, maybe two without any and be normal during the day.

Crying with exhaustion – yesterday I had no naps, Elvis fed for over an hour at bedtime and then it took me over an hour to go to sleep. Like Johnson’s baby shampoo, no tears! Oh and it was still boiling hot.

Dirty house – it’s by no means spotless but I can now keep on top of the washing up. I even cleaned the kitchen floor yesterday. Because Elvis can amuse himself for short periods.

Energy – I don’t need to snack through the night. I don’t eat as much junk food through the day and I’ve been preparing easy evening meals. Maybe this healthier element is why I’m coping better with the fewer hours of sleep.

I can’t think of anything else that was a huge problem over the past 8 weeks, I guess those rose tinted glasses are already coming in to effect. But in 8 weeks things have improved. I still don’t want a second child though!

~ Persephone M

6 responses to “Positive Post

  1. mhaggerton says:

    That’s fantastic!! It does get easier! And then they do something that will throw you for a loop and bring you back to square one!

  2. lol you might change your mind with time (re second baby) but no big deal if you don’t either. It’s diff for everyone. This post takes me back to the early days with my bub so much. I went through almost all of these things! I used to watch shows on my laptop to stay away for night feeds! lol I think it was because feeding took so much longer at the point whereas when they get older they get a bit faster so it’s easier to take the most relaxed approach. I am pleased that your journey is improving already 🙂 Also, don’t worry about how you are going to stop the co-sleeping at this point. There will be a time that you’ll want to do that and you can research it then. For now I suggest you stick to your immediate issues.

    • Oh and ps…I spent the whole first 3mths of my son’s life being in awe of anyone that had more than one child. LOL. They get easier all of a sudden at 6 months and then again at just over a year. More independence gives you breathing space. It works out. Don’t worry.

      • Persephone says:

        I’m glad 6 months is a milestone because that’s what I’m counting down to! That’s my goal line, where I’m aiming for and then see! I’ll bf until then before re-evaluating. And he’s certainly faster at feeding. Sometimes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

