Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Breastfeeding: Going it Alone. With Spectators

on July 26, 2013

I attend a children’s centre group where no other parent breastfeeds. There’s no problem with that; it’s a personal choice. But I do feel in the minority. I am in the minority. I’ve attended a breastfeeding group where everyone breastfeeds and I felt awkward there as well as at my current group.

And today I realised why.

I’m not embarrassed to feed in public, done it in many restaurants/pubs. Why am I in a room full of mums and their children, whether their boobs were out or not?
In the breastfeeding group everyone had their boobs out. Everyone. And Elvis was only 3 weeks old. I was new to breastfeeding and seeing everyone feeding was quite off-putting. I was also concerned that the breastfeeding support people, or other mums, would start critiquing me on my technique. As a new mum that was a horrendous thought.

And also a silly thought.

Any critiquing would only have been help to improve!

This morning I knew that E would need feeding at the group I attend and I was worried. Was I worried because all those non-breastfeeding mums might judge me? Or because they might all think I’m judging them? Or because some daddys come along too?

Nope.

I realised today that it’s because I haven’t fed in public alone. Hubby has always been with me to help cover me as we get started. Who would hold a muslin and keep me covered as E latched on? What if I exposed too much of my bra? What if I did make some of these mums uncomfortable? What if they had problems with breastfeeding and have a resentment? What if E decided to be fussy again?

Well, E was perfect. No one stared, or even batted an eyelid. And he was a happy little boy afterwards who did such a loud poo that every mum and dad did turn and look. #embarrassed!

So I overcame that feeding obstacle. Phew. Now to be that confident in a more public place. Although public in this city has it’s own unique set of properties – I work (when I did!) in an all girls senior school (ages 11-16) which means they’re everywhere at normal times let alone when it’s time to get a booby out.

One breastfeeding step at a time!

~ Persephone M

3 responses to “Breastfeeding: Going it Alone. With Spectators

  1. lynnc2010 says:

    I’m glad you had such a great experience!!

  2. mhaggerton says:

    Yay! So very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

