Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Bed Sharing: The Next Step

on August 3, 2013

After a bad night’s sleep that was purely all me, E is still pretty much fine overnight, I decided that this bed sharing needs to stop.

I need some time without him, some time to be me, some time with my husband and some time where I can physically fully relax. I knew it wouldn’t be easy. I figured I’d get less sleep. I assumed he’d wake up more, feed more.

And so we tried. With his daily pattern shifted by an hour, bed time’s now at 9pm giving us all more time together in the evening, so at 10pm when his bed time nursing was done I settled down to sleep, joined by hubby half an hour later.

It took a while for me to relax, but it always does at the beginning of the night.

Two hours later and E woke up hungry. At least he seemed to eat fine. Usually from the bedtime nursing, he’d sleep 5 hours, but then he would spend those 5 hours clamped to my side. He can’t poke himself in the eye or fidget until he wakes up.

This may have been okay except E seemed to be on the verge of waking up only two hours later. And he’d fed for an hour at half 12 – longer than a normal night time feed. I cannot cope with his noisy sleeping. So I brought him into our bed where he continued sleeping until half 5 in the morning.

Here is the new, revised plan: put him into the Moses basket overnight after each feeding when he starts to stir, bring him into bed, feed him when he needs it, back into Moses.

Meanwhile I’m also working on his naps by using the cot. I’ve been out a lot today but I’m going to put us on house arrest whilst Nanny’s on holidays to get him napping not on me!

Watch this space!

~ Persephone M

2 responses to “Bed Sharing: The Next Step

  1. lynnc2010 says:

    Best of luck!! Hopefully you can find something that works for you. I always put the kids in their bassinets (kind of like a Moses basket) at bedtime. They would sleep 2-3 hours, feed, back into their bed 2-3 hours later wake again to eat and at that point I would bring them to my bed and we would finish out the night there. Until they were about 4 months old. Then I moved them into their own room and I would always put them back in their beds. You’ll find the balance that works best for you guys, it’s all trial and error! (and that doesn’t ever change ha ha!)

    • Persephone says:

      I need those couple of hours “alone” and, yeah, let’s see how it goes. I wouldn’t have survived the past 7 weeks without bedsharing but the time’s right to change it, for me anyway. E just might need time!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

