Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Bed Sharing: No Revisions

on August 6, 2013

We had a bit of a setback.

And by that I mean, huge. We shared again!

I’ve lost track of days, but 2 nights ago, I think, I got so little sleep that hubby made me take Elvis back into bed. He also ordered me to nap all day with E. That was yesterday.

So we made revisions and tried again last night.

I really do have to point out that it’s me that can’t bedshare any more. E seems fine wherever he is. Sure, he wakes up more when he’s in his Moses, but he also has more space as I’m not clamping him to me.

Last night we tried it with white noise (a fan on all night). It was annoying because I hate noise at night. I have always needed absolute silence, which meant I kept trying to suffocate my own hubby for, honestly, breathing too loudly. Yep, not snoring, breathing!

Now I seem to need hubby’s breathing to help me get to sleep and his loud breathing isn’t even annoying as I’m sat up feeding!

There I was noisy fan and hubby breathing loudly in my ear (he used to have to face away, now to me!) just to dull E’s sleepy noises.

I’m not sure I often got more than an hour at a time. There were 2 night time feeds rather than 1 plus an extra wake up, oh and the 3am feed took twice as long as a normal night feed. Which did then mean that by 4am I had no patience to resettle him (6am is always morning to E) so I gave in and brought him in to bed for two hours.

As a family we’re calling it a success. Yes, it was only one night. Yes, it might not go as smoothly tonight. Or it might but there might be a hiccup later down the road, but we’re calling it a success.

E seems none the real wiser – except his morning feeds were a bit odd. Hubby and I both woke up feeling semi-refreshed. And I don’t ache from sleeping around a 2.5 month old who somehow takes up more of the bed than me!

Maybe there is hope!

~ P

2 responses to “Bed Sharing: No Revisions

  1. kukolina says:

    I am smiling because I only started the “two hours of helping Zoárd fall asleep” thirty minutes ago. So I still have an hour and a half to go. I guess sleeping is an issue for many…
    Best of luck to you!

    xoxo

  2. Valerie says:

    You *might* want to stop by the party at my place today…you’re IN IT!! 🙂 http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/rockin-recommendations-august-23rd/ Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

