Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Mummy Update

on November 4, 2013

Having a quick look at the last posts before I vanished from the blogosphere, we were just starting to stop our bedsharing habit.

I have to admit that the changes in every part of our lives since the beginning of August are so immense that I wish I’d continued blogging over the past 3 months. Hopefully I have been keeping my diary up to date so I have a record of everything!

I made the decision to stop bedsharing because I wasn’t sleeping well enough. So we put Elvis into the Moses basket and I think it took less than a week before we’d stopped fully (except for the occasional morning when we want a lie in!) Then I stopped allowing naps on me and started using the Moses basket.

It took a week, if that, although sometimes he does refuse a late afternoon nap and it can take half an hour for him to start his nap!

I had started feeling like I was physically attached 24 hours a day. He slept with me at night, he slept and fed on me at day. The only time he wasn’t on me would be when he was awake and playing. Well, it was draining me. So we changed it and E adapted perfectly.

About a month ago we had to move him into his cot in his nursery, but he feeds less than twice a night. Often he goes over 10 hours without needing to feed!

A little over a month ago E started sitting unaided and he can now bum shuffle short distances. He hasn’t shown many signs of rolling or crawling but did roll back to front once for the first time today!

He’s so bloody verbal! Had days of the ‘M’ sound, then ‘G’ and currently it’s ‘B’ ‘Bzzz’ and blowing raspberries! I’ve developed the unique skill of sleeping through his chatter!

We started gentle weaning about two weeks ago at 5 months and he’s so far had baby porridge, pureed pear, mashed sweet potato and mashed carrot. He didn’t like pear but enjoyed the veggies. Tonight we tried some finger foods. He hated the cucumber, maybe liked the green pepper and kinda of enjoyed the bread and chicken. The cheese simply got mushed!

He’s so adaptable and lovely. And almost 6 months old!

~ P

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

