Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

For the Next 5 Years

on January 29, 2014

The plan for Elvis’ first birthday is to visit his Grandparents who live in Spain. He’s only met them once and it would be lovely to spend that occasion with them. I know my mum will be unhappy, but she’ll still get his first birthday party!

Now the key thing for that is a passport.


As it happens, mine expires today and is still in my maiden name so I’ve filled in the forms for both of us and today I went and got the photos done.

I actually quite like my current photo, but it is over 10 years old so I guess a new one is needed. Immediately I decided that I hate it. Elvis’, on the other hand, is actually all right. But then kids have it easy, right?

They just need eyes open. They can be smiling or scowling. They can look grumpy or cute. No one’s going to care. E decided to open his mouth in increase his gormlessness, but we got one after just a few tries. I am a bit miffed as to how the photo shop can justify charging more for the baby photos, but hey, they cut them up for me, too.

Before we got E dressed this morning, I shouted through to hubby to chose wisely because from his chest up will be his ID for the next 5 years of his life. Well, we picked a simple dark vest and dungarees. Thankfully his cradle cap wasn’t too visible today and he looks kinda cute, but I find it so crazy that in 5 years he’s going to look completely different.

Hell, in 3.5 months when we go to Spain he could look completely different. We think he’s slowly starting to grow hair!

I just someone to certify the image and then I can send off for his first passport. I am so excited!

And his first holiday will be our first as a family and my first with my married name, 5 years later!

Exciting!

~ P

2 responses to “For the Next 5 Years

  1. Expat Mammy says:

    Urrgh, i hated taking passport photo’s of our wee ones

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

