Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Trial Run: Lone Parenting

on January 31, 2014

No, my marriage is all fine, I simply mean the act of parenting on your own. Most people do this quite often. Normally one parent, or the parent, spends all day alone with their child whilst the other works. It’s normal. Except not for me. For almost 3 months, I’ve had hubby home all the time, no lone parenting for me at all.

Good news: hubby got a new job.

Bad news: I have to be a lone parenter!


Aaaaahhhhhhh!

It’s incredibly silly, I’m well aware of this, but I’m a bit scared!

I’ll have to go all day without a second pair of hands, have to do 2 meals a day alone, wash up and entertain Elvis alone, prepare dinner and entertain Elvis alone.

Alone. Alone. Alone!

Aaaaaahhhhhh!

Well, Daddy had to pop out this evening and I had to do dinner, bath and most of bedtime alone. And we both survived. I didn’t need to sort out dinner for us (takeaway celebration) which took the burden off, but I got cleaning done.

I can do this. I can be normal.

Well, as normal as anyone!

~ P

9 responses to “Trial Run: Lone Parenting

  1. kukolina says:

    I am sure you will be a great supermom once you get the hang of it! Try to find a support system to back you up if you can.
    You can always check out my blog. 😉
    Big hug,
    Eszter
    http://kukolina.wordpress.com/2014/01/31/baby-friendly-places-in-barcelona/

  2. Piper's Run says:

    I’ve been there before (this time last year). It’s not easy, it’s hard but over time things work out, you get into a system and it get’s a little easier. My husband works away (gone for 4-10 days at at time) and now I am back to work full time with both girls – it’s exhausting. A friend of mine said to change your expectations and take it one day at a time. And that is what I do, every, single, day now.

  3. I feel like I am in the same place. Hubs has been on parental for a little over 8 months and he goes back to work on Monday. To say I am a little nervous is an understatement…

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

