Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Reading Corner: Christmas Books

on February 17, 2014

For Christmas, I made a polite request that, if friends and family wanted to buy presents for Elvis, that they buy him books and he got loads! We read together every night at bedtime and I keep buying cheap second hand books, too. I’m addicted! I just don’t really like paying such large prices for books. I don’t agree with buying myself full price books. The only ones I tend to buy for full price are the newest ASOIAF books, all others I try and wait to find them second hand. So, if I begrudge paying £7+ for a book that has 1000s of words and that I do re-read, how can I justify the same price for books with fewer than 100 words for him?

Of course if I needed to, or it was a book he really wanted as he got older, I would, but right now, second hand is just as good. Or getting friends and family to buy them all!

So, let’s see, what books did we get on Christmas Morning. We got The Gruffalo (I love this one! I do funny voices and lisp as the snake), Rabbit’s Nap, Bizzy Bear Pirate Adventure (We both love this one. Elvis can actually move a few of the pages. Short but very sweet), a musical Old McDonald book, collection of first words, We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, The Jolly Christmas Postman (This seems far too delicate for him this year, but I loved looking through it and cannot wait to be able to share it with him. It’s so intricate), That’s Not My Monster (Elvis pulled this one off of his book shelf the other day to read on his own), Choo Choo (a pushchair soft book), a touchy feely bedtime book and from his Santa visit, Elvis also got a Tinga Tingaland pushchair book.

Now, I can’t wait for his birthday to get more books!

~ P

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

