Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

(Stair) Gates to Heaven

on February 24, 2014

With Elvis’ increasing mobility we had to invest in safety gates. Originally we wanted one at the top and one at the bottom of the stairs. We’ve had some hiccups, but we now have two:

BabyDan Auto Foldable Safety Gate
Lindam Sure Shut Gate

And I love them both!

We bought the Lindam gate from a local supermarket as it was super cheap at less than £15 and it was for the top of the stairs. Except we didn’t measure properly and the stairs are too narrow. So we tried to put it at the bottom, well we have a funny bannister and couldn’t put it there.

It remained in its box whilst we searched for a narrower gate for the top of the stairs. It was this position that was most important to me. With hubby back at work, I need to let E roam free upstairs whilst I do things and to do that we needed a gate. The only gate we could find to buy that very day was the BabyDan one – one that’s auto-foldable.

It’s a concertina gate and feels really unique – I’ve never seen one like it. It costs a lot more than I wanted to spend, but to have no trip bar or trying to move around the gate on a tight staircase I consider it well worth it. It was a bit tricky at first, the lock a bit stiff, but it’s loosening up. The gate’s designed to attached inside the doorframe or on the outside, which means it will work at the bottom of the stairs.

I love the fact that when it’s open it isn’t in the way. I would hesitate now in putting normal stair gates on stairs in case of fires or overnight emergencies. When a normal stair gate is open, the gate protrudes. The BabyDan doesn’t have this problem. It can be a bit tricky to close one handed, but it’s easy to open one handed, which is fine as I rarely carry E upstairs anymore.

The BabyDan will work at the bottom of our stairs because it can fit on the outside of the banister, but it costs a lot, hopefully we’ll be moving soon and until then I just keep putting large toys in the way so E can’t start climbing the stairs without me!

With regards to the downstairs, we weren’t going to put a gate anywhere (other than the stairs). Although the kitchen and lounge are seperate, it’s only by a folding door which is quite handy for grabbing a drink and leaving E in the lounge as long as he can’t get to the stairs! Due to other things in the lounge (expensive PC and dirty pushchair) we never leave E in there unless it’s to pop into the kitchen so I hadn’t planned on putting a gate there.

Except he can be happily playing as I sneak into the kitchen keeping him in eyeline until he hears me and then crawls in! On Saturday hubby put the cheap Lindam gate up at the kitchen door and so far E hasn’t screamed at it. It has one handed opening, which I find really easy. You squeeze the top and bottom and voila; far easier than some other easy opening gates. I would still recommend this gate, but it does have a trip bar and a gate in the way when open.

If we had the space, I’d only use the Lindam gates probably; I could buy 3 Lindam for 1 BabyDan! But in tight hallways, tight spaces, on stairs, from one room to another I’d use the BabyDan. It might be expensive, you might not be able to look through it, but you won’t trip over it trying to rush down the stairs, you won’t have to keep moving it to get past or once baby’s in bed and you can leave it up once your toddler doesn’t need it without it being in the way.

~ P
image

The Lindam gate locking mechanism and open.
image

The BabyDan gate open.
image

The BabyDan gate closed.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

