Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

My 5th Anniversary

on April 4, 2014

For our 5th wedding anniversary, hubby and I went out for dinner alone. I believe ai got quite merrily drunk! We left Elvis at home, nicely sleeping with Nanny watching TV downstairs.

I got asked at a baby group if I spent the meal worrying and wondering. In fact it was the same group where a mum proclaimed that she had an hour all to herself the day before, for the first time in 10 months. Other mums started blissfully remembering their first time alone and the worry that filled them.

Umm, what am I doing wrong?

I didn’t worry. I don’t worry. Am I doing this parenting malarkey wrong? Does it mean I don’t care?

A few months ago, before Elvis’ feeds had dropped, I did worry during the day when it got to over the 3 or 4 hour mark. I think he’s completely dropping his lunchtime feed though so it shouldn’t be an issue for long. However, since 3 months old I’ve used Daddy to look after him so I can go swimming, chill out maybe go shopping.

As soon as Elvis stopped feeding overnight and I had a terrible bought of insomnia, I spent the night away from him.

At those times away, no, I do not miss him. I don’t spend my day wishing I could have a break. I don’t wish for people to look after him. I don’t wish to put him in nursery so I can have time alone. I look forward to the weekend, to going swimming or going clothes shopping. I looked forward to my 5th anniversary date and will look forward to seeing the Captain America sequel with my hubby.

I don’t miss him because I enjoy those times and know that I get him back straight after.  Am I the unusual one here? Am I doing things wrong?

~ P

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

