Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Nanny’s and Napping

on April 15, 2014

Today, I abandoned Elvis at Nanny’s for the morning. She’s looked after him before. She’s babysat him before. But she’s never had him when he’d need a nap. When she babysat, it was at our house where Elvis will happily sleep because he loves his cot!

The times I’ve tried to get him to nap at Nanny’s have been very hit and miss. And at Nanny’s he will scream and scream; at home he’s happy and playful if he’s not quite ready to sleep.

And I hate him screaming when I could just take him home and he’ll be happy.


Today, hubby and I took him to Nanny’s and then went out until lunchtime. My phone contract is up and I wanted to look at new ones – found my new dream phone. Then we went looking at birthday presents for Elvis’ first!

Being born in May makes outdoor, summery presents ideal for Elvis so we had a look. Especially as hopefully we’ll have moved by summer and then we’ll have a garden to put it all in.

Well then we had to go and look at kitchens and bathrooms for when we get our new house rennovated – a very long way off – and then went to look at new car seats and bicycle accessories for when I’m back at work. And two hours later, phone, presents and kitchens decided we went back to Nanny’s.

She opened the door, holding Elvis and there was a tear on his cheek so I questioned that he must not have napped. Nope, she had just gotten him after an hour and a half!

It worked. He didn’t even fight it at all. Not a scream or a whimper. I’m not sure if it was my absence or that he had his Dummy Bunny, but he did it!

~ P

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

