Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Jogging My Muscle Memory

on April 16, 2014

Traditionally I’ve always been a cycler when it comes to exercise, where I would swim for fun and despised jogging and running with a passion.

Except for when I was 11 and a cross country runner for my school.

About 20 months ago I gave up jogging. Huh? Oh, yeah, about 22 months ago I took up jogging.


I have no idea why in July of 2012 I took up jogging. I have no idea how I came to slightly enjoy it. It became such a serious thing that I got an ipod, running bra and proper running trousers and top. And then I started fertility treatment.

So I stopped before the insemination. Just to be safe. 5 months later I took up swimming which I continued religiously until Elvis was due.

For the past 7 months I have been swimming religiously again but we’ve hit that time of year when they keep closing my pool for galas on the weekend. As the nights get lighter I know I can head up there once Elvis is in bed, but we’re not quite there yet so I decided to break out my jogging kit.

It wasn’t far, but I jogged to the swimming pool. I then reached my current high score on distance swum. Go me! I jogged!

And my muscles can feel it today. It feels really good, feeling the muscles. Clearly they haven’t been used in a long, long old time! I’m so excited by yesterday’s jog that I plan on a second one tomorrow – to the swimming pool and back (without the swimming) once Elvis is in bed. This time the ipod will be charged as long as I can find my earphones!

~ P

2 responses to “Jogging My Muscle Memory

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

