Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

My Breastfeeding Journey – 11 Months

on April 24, 2014

In retrospect I probably should have tried to post regularly about my breastfeeding journey. It was difficult at the beginning, so very very difficult. By three weeks old I was able to feed in public but it hurt, there were latch issues although Elvis and I had established a routine.

Somewhere along the way it all became second nature, just how everyone and everything seemed to imply from day one! We didn’t need the lights on to organise a night time feed. I didn’t need nipple shields. It became normal.


Well we now stand at eleven months and our journey will be ending soon. I’d originally simply hoped I could stick it out until a year, wondering if I could get there and if it was ever going to get easier. Somewhere along the way, when it became natural, I began to realise that Elvis was going to wean himself sooner rather than later.

In fact at nine months he cut his feeds in half, from 4 to just 2 and I decided to try and not drop a further one until 11 months. It’s daunting when he, as an under one, starts to stop feeding. I’ve never known how much he’s taken, obviously, but I am certain he is barely taking any milk anymore.

A few nights ago, so just shy of 11 months, I complained that I was tired and couldn’t be bothered to dream feed him. Seriously how awful a mother does that make me sound?! I had an inkling that he was just using me as a dummy on that feed so, being tired, I decided to test my theory.

I’m not that evil though, I was fully aware that I might need to feed him during the night. But I didn’t. And he never altered his evening feed so I went 24 hours without feeding. He seemed fine and I had no pain or discomfort.

Doesn’t that just prove he hadn’t been feeding at 10pm? So we’re down to one feed right before bed and I have complete faith in him to decide when he wants to stop.

Fingers crossed he makes it to a year, not for me, but for him.

~ P

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

