Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Holiday Packing

on May 5, 2014

Calling all traveller mummies!

In under three weeks, I’m taking Elvis on a plane from London to Alicante. I’m all set with packing for whilst there (family with multiple grandchildren so toys, cots, pushchairs, travel seats, all taken care of) and for shopping for consumables (we use Aldi here, they have Aldi shops there), I think I’m okay for the car journey (think!), but…

I mean, BUT, what about the flight? How do I keep him entertained? We’ll take some food, he might sleep, but he won’t have a seat of his own and he loves to wriggle and move. Any seasoned travelling-mummy tips on how to keep him confined to my lap for what could be almost three hours?

I read somewhere to board the plane as late as possible (if you’ve pre-booked seats, which we have) so that I confine him as late as possible. Any other hints?

We each have a carry on bag, standard size, that we can fill up with toys, books, food? But how do we entertain a mover? Any practical tips people can pass on? Or any good blogs that you recommend?

~ P

2 responses to “Holiday Packing

  1. toys he hasn’t seen before are a plus… When I fly with the kids I bring them a handful of toys that I have either just bought or that I took out of their toy box a couple weeks beforehand.
    Also I would let the kids stand and look out the window which allowed them to bounce around a little bit. It’s all new, and entertaining them isn’t as hard as it sounds! Good Luck!

    • Persephone says:

      Ooh, that’s a good one – thank you! Will raid his toys now. I’m hoping he sleeps, like the white noise of the plane juat conks him out! I’ll take his favourite books at the moment, too. Thanks šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

