Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Craft Corner: Wardrobe Dividers

on January 11, 2015

image

I got this idea from soooo many different pins on pinterest but decided on my own tools to make my own. I’d seen these clothes dividers way before I got pregnant with Robin and often thought that, although they look lovely, what would the point be?

I mean there are so many clothes in each range and so much washing to do, do people really hang up all of their baby clothes or use a drawer (I found drawers far more use and far less time consuming than hanging everything up). And then don’t the clothes for just one age range take up an entire wardrobe?

I guess if you’re given loads before you have Bubba, you might have need for it, but we simply didn’t have the space with Elvis. By the time he stared wearing proper outfits during the day, we ended up never putting him in half of them because we didn’t have them hung up! I’m quite pleased we have wardrobes for Robin!

Anyway, wardrobe dividers suddenly became useful because I suddenly have a need to hang up little clothes that I won’t continue to, but needed to sort. I’d sorted and separated all of Elvis’ clothes ages ago by age and gender (boys separated from gender neutral) for selling/passing on to family members, but then I got pregnant with Robin.

And I wanted to hang up all of the neutral clothes from newborn to at least 6 months so I knew what I had. I also hung up the newborn boys as we still don’t know the gender of Robin.

From pinterest I found lots of ways to make these dividers, but I thought they were all quite complicated. I simply found 2 circular objects of different sizes. Both have to be bigger than the clothes hanging pole, but not too big to not fit with the top of the wardrobe. Some pins recommended a CD type size and I found a large coffee cup that fit the bill. A small spice jar was ideal for the inner circle.

Using some thin cardboard (cereal packets) I drew around the coffee cup as many times as I needed, then the spice bottle inside the larger circle. Using scissors I drew around the larger circle and then into the lower circle and cut around the smaller. You need to cut through the large circle for it to hook on the wardrobe pole.

Using a plain, simple glue stick (I’m not looking at super longevity for these) I stuck the ring onto the patterned paper – I chose some Leeds United wrapping paper as Hubby would like it. And then cut around it all with a craft knife, including the inner circle. Then I repeated it for the other side. Cutting through into the inner circle each time, too.

Using some random cardboard sticky numbers I found, I labelled up the dividers. NB for newborn and then 3, 6, 9 etc. I didn’t have enough to label 0-3, 3-6 so just did the end of each size. Then I hung up all the baby clothes!
image

A very nice simple craft to make (because I’m really not that crafty, I just like to try!)

~ P

2 responses to “Craft Corner: Wardrobe Dividers

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

