Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Two Nights In

on January 29, 2015

Robin was born on Sunday night and I fought for discharge by Monday evening. I missed Elvis, didn’t want to spend more time away from him and I co-sleep with newborns which hospitals frown on so I needed to get home. Well, 3 nights of life with 2 at home and Robin has some pickle in her!

She likes to sleep during the day and she’ll sleep independently. She likes to feed at very certain times and at others will signal feeding but then literally hold a nipple in her mouth and go back too sleep. My patience at this point with Elvis was non-existant so Robin has it better.

Okay I’m so slow at blogging, it’s now night 3 at home. And I’m flashing back to newborn Elvis. It isn’t as bad. It can’t be as bad. Robin got weighed yesterday and has lost 8%. She gets reweighed Friday and can only lose 2 more. Elvis was borderline on the 10% loss on day 5, he wasn’t weeing or pooing. I knew there was a problem – my milk took 5 days to come in. Well Robin is weeing, pooping and my milk’s in – day 3.

It must be better therefore.

However, just because I’ve done this before, nursed a newborn it doesn’t mean that she and I know what we’re doing. I have a few blood blisters starting to form. I’m hoping I’ve noticed in enough time, that it won’t get worse, but right now I’m very protective of my nipples.

Last time I was exhausted, my breasts ached and I needed sleep. Husband and I stuggled to become parents let alone understand what c-section meant and we had to do it all on the fly. This time we already are parents, we understand what major surgery is. All I have to do is see to Robin. She’s mine. Elvis, the house and me are all The Husband’s.

Ot certainly relieves the pressure but I do hate it regarding Elvis. But my surgery prevents me being a normal mum just as much as the baby on my boob. It will pass. I have far more faith than last time. I just need this pain to pass.

~ P

4 responses to “Two Nights In

  1. You’re doing great 🙂 You’ll soon be back to doing regular Momma things with Elvis and he won’t remember the short time you weren’t able too. I am so glad to hear that things are going better with Robin!

    • Persephone says:

      I feel so guilty and crap with Elvis. He seems to understand and mostly tries his hardest with Robin, but there are clear signs he’s “preferring” Daddy to me. Which I guess is better than him wanting and not being able to have me. But it makes me feel like crap! And all Robin seems to do is scream at me during feeds.

      • Keep taking it one day at a time. I don’t know much about breastfeeding, as I didn’t breastfeed any of my babes, but I know being able to share feedings was a lifesaver with my girls. Zoey had a lip tie and colic and was a miserable eater, and Emma stresses me out to the moon and back sometimes because she has a habit of resisting the bottle even when she is hungry. I hope you and Robin get the hang of it and I know things will get better with Elvis!
        *hugs!*

      • Persephone says:

        My milk is in and my hormones are starting to settle so I’m hoping things will calm down a bit. Except Elvis might have chicken pox! Whatever next haha!

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

