Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Post Christmas Crafts – Christmas Eve Boxes

on February 12, 2015

I first heard about Christmas Eve boxes through, yep, of course, pinterest and I know that some people do it with pre bought boxes and there are variations on the contents. I even know a local company that sells fully made up Christmas Eve boxes. Well, I decided that I’m poor this Christmas and so needed to make 4 boxes (4th is for Nanny) and I decided that not everyone’s will be exactly the same – I hope that in the years to come, the adults each go and buy certain things so it isn’t all me! Haha!

Here’s what I needed/used to make the boxes:

  • 4 shoeboxes
  • Red paint
  • Foam Letters – to name each box
  • Christmassy tissue paper – for the inside

Somehow, incredibly surprisingly, I managed to find 4 empty shoeboxes scattered through my house in the run up to Christmas. I assume some are from the house move and some were just from hubby’s trainer addiction. Two of the boxes were red in colour to start with — even better! The other two were very dark boxes so needed a lot of red paint!
image

My hope is also to get the kiddies to help out decorating them, adding a few things each year. I also might get them to decorate the interiors as I doubt the tissue paper will last too many years!

As for the contents this year (I’m hesitant on how much Elvis will actually understand), I’ve opted for –

  • New pyjamas for all 4 of us to wear on Christmas morning for present opening
  • Christmas socks to wear on Christmas Day
  • Popcorn for the adults to eat on Christmas Eve night and I’ll find something snacky for Elvis
  • Santa key for Elvis. I’m not sure if he’ll understand that or reindeer food
  • A DVD for Daddy (we have Ice Age 1, 2 and 4) but none for Nanny, Elvis or me
  • Hot chocolate gifts, Elvis not included
    image

What do you put in yours?

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

