Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

More Food Habits!

on February 19, 2016

After last week’s post about some rather bad habits I have with food, typing it down seemed to do some good that I haven’t made the same mistakes so far this week. The hardest was limiting my calories more on a weekend as I’m not as active. Or I need to increase my activity, I guess. I did quite well last weekend until we had Valentines day and I had too many chocolates and profiteroles and wine and Baileys. I mean there’s having a day off and there’s eating 2 days worth of calories in 1! I highly doubt I’ll lose any weight this week, but I will also blame the hormones! I have noticed a few new things though.

  • My breakfast and lunch seem to make up about 800 calories, on a good day my evening meal makes about 800. If I want to be able to have indulgent snacks and/alcohol, I have to limit the dinner.
  • I always snack on food at lunch when waiting for Robin to eat her lunch. I either need to stop (I have little willpower) or make the lunch the night before so I don’t have those foods out on the table*
  • Decide on a maximum number of valentines chocolates I can have each day because, no, it is not healthier to just eat them all in 1 go! I got some Lindt chocolate balls and have decided I can have three a day.
  • Garlic bread is not my friend.
  • Neither are poppadoms, bhajis, pakoras, somasas, etc.
  • Just because Elvis leaves his milk at dinner, I don’t have to add Baileys to it rather than throw it away!
  • I also don’t have to eat last night’s dinner left overs. I hate throwing things out, but I also don’t need to eat the left over pasta. Or the abandoned fish finger. Or the crusts that both children make me cut off their sandwiches!

I think a big key thing is to continue limiting snacking, but also alter extras I make with dinner. I think I fail when I allow myself nibbbles at lunch or my chocolate allowance during the day and then cook garlic breads with dinner. The indulgences need to be left until after dinner as a proper treat for the day.

I also really need to figure out how to approach next weekend as I’m off out on a date for our wedding anniversary and the dinner will be huge! Gulp!

*This will not really be a problem once I’m back at work. But I’d like to sort out bad habits before my days become more active.

Leave a Reply

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

