Persephone: Parent

A fine WordPress.com site

Things To Do: Hampshire

I have a very lofty dream. In fact, it’s incredibly lofty, far-fetched and near impossible maybe! I want to create a super list of things to do in certain areas and this is where I am going to start.

Personally, I live in Hampshire in the UK, so I figure that’s a good starting point. My plan is to create a list of all the places that a family could possibly visit within Hampshire, reviewing those places that I choose to visit. Or at least writing a blog about them. Some of those places listed won’t need actual blogs or reviews, they might just need to be a highlight to other local or visiting parents that they even exist (playparks, for example). Then I plan on expanding outwards and covering other locations that might not be classed as quite so local, but that have piqued my interest. There is bias in these lists, they won’t necessarily list every single family orientated place of fun in the South (feel free to message me with any I have missed and I can add it) and they won’t necessarily all be visited and blogged about, but those that I visit will be.

Oh, and there is very little order to any of the lists! Links to the actual place will need to be copy and pasted, my blog entries will be hyperlinks.

Onto Hampshire:

1. Staunton country park – http://www3.hants.gov.uk/countryside/staunton.htm

2. Stansted house – http://www.stanstedpark.co.uk/

3. Butser Hill – http://www.butserancientfarm.co.uk/

4. 100 Acres – http://www.forestry.gov.uk/westwalk

5. Farlington Marshes – http://www.emsworthwalks.org/farlington.html

6. Queen Elizabeth Country Park – http://www3.hants.gov.uk/qecp

7. Royal Victoria Country Park – http://www3.hants.gov.uk/countryside/rvcp.htm

8. Marwell Zoo – http://www.marwell.org.uk/

9. Paultons Parkhttps://paultonspark.co.uk/

10. Hayling Island beach – http://www.hayling.co.uk/guides/hayling-beaches.php

11. West wittering beach – http://www.westwitteringbeach.co.uk/

12. Longdown dairy farm  – http://www.longdownfarm.co.uk/

13. Miniature village http://www.visitportsmouth.co.uk/things-to-do/southsea-model-village-p55023

14. Hinton Ampner – http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hinton-ampner/

15. Hilliers gardens – http://www3.hants.gov.uk/hilliergardens.htm

16. Itchen valley country park – http://www.eastleigh.gov.uk/sport-leisure-and-culture/countryside/itchen-valley-country-park.aspx

17. Petworth house – http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/petworth-house/visitor-information/

18. Bird world – http://birdworld.co.uk/

19. Intech Winchester – http://www.winchestersciencecentre.org/page/default.asp?title=Home&pid=1

20. Watercress steam railway – http://www.watercressline.co.uk/

21. Moors country park – http://www.moors-valley.co.uk/

22. Fort Nelson  – http://www.royalarmouries.org/visit-us/fort-nelson

23. New forest wildlife park – Mini Go Wild Playground for Under 4s – http://www.newforestwildlifepark.co.uk/

24. Fort Cumberland – http://www.portsmouth-guide.co.uk/local/frtcumb.htm

25. Holly hill – sarisbury green – http://www.fareham.gov.uk/leisure/discover_fareham/hollyhill.aspx

26. Hotham Park – Bognor – http://www.hothampark.co.uk/

27. Butlins Bognor – http://www.butlins.com/day-visits/bognor-regis/index.aspx

28. Alice Holt Forest nr Farnham – http://www.forestry.gov.uk/aliceholt

29. Hurst Castle / Spit nr Lymington – http://www.hurstcastle.co.uk/index.html

30. Weald & Downland Open Air Museum – nr Chichester – http://www.wealddown.co.uk/

31. Beaulieu motor museum – http://www.beaulieu.co.uk/

32. Furzey Gardens in the new forest – http://www.furzey-gardens.org/

33. Netley Village – http://www.thebunney.co.uk/netley-village

34. Riverside in Southampton – https://www.southampton.gov.uk/s-leisure/parksgreenspaces/DistrictParks/riverside-park.aspx

35. Finkley down farm – http://www.finkleydownfarm.co.uk/

36. Titchfield haven – http://www.visit-hampshire.co.uk/things-to-do/titchfield-haven-national-nature-reserve-p59943

37. Alpaca farm – http://www.dunreythalpacas.co.uk/

38. Durleighmarsh Farm – http://www.durleighmarshfarmshop.co.uk/

39. Brockenhurst (New Forest) – http://www.thenewforest.co.uk/discover/brockenhurst.aspx

40. Arundel Castle – http://www.arundelcastle.org/

41. Brighton – pier/ amusement arcade – http://www.brightonpier.co.uk/

42. Port Solent – http://www.portsolent.com/

43. Gaston Farm – http://www.gastonfarm.com/

44. Earnley Butterfly Centre – http://www.earnleybutterfliesandgardens.co.uk/

45. Bucklers Hard – http://www.bucklershard.co.uk/

46. Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway – http://www.exbury.co.uk/website/

47. Bransbury Park steam train – http://www.portsmouthmes.co.uk/index.htm

48. Miniport at Gunwharf Quays – http://www.miniport.co/

49. Mottisfont (National Trust) – http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/mottisfont/visitor-information/

50. Manor Farm & Country Park (near Southampton) – http://www3.hants.gov.uk/manorfarm

51. Gosport Submarine Museum (under 5’s go free) – http://www.submarine-museum.co.uk/

52. Hayling Island Funfair – http://www.funland.info/

53. Romsey Rapids/Valley Leisure – http://www.valleyleisure.co.uk/centres/rapids/timetables/swimming

54. Merlin’s Kingdom – http://www.valleyleisure.co.uk/what-we-offer/kids/merlin-s-kingdom

55. Fisher’s Farm – http://www.fishersfarmpark.co.uk/

56. Petersfield Open Air Pool – http://petersfieldpool.org/

57. Walking Trails – http://www.easthants.gov.uk/edo/tourism.nsf/webpages/Walking

58. Havant Leisure Center – http://www.horizonlc.com/

59. Alice Holt Forest – http://www.forestry.gov.uk/aliceholt

60. Funcity – http://www.funcityfareham.co.uk/

61. The Adventure Barn – http://www.theadventurebarn.co.uk/

62. Moby’s Play Area – http://www.mobys-playcentre.co.uk/

63. Monkey Bizness – http://monkey-bizness.co.uk/default.php

 

And slightly closer to home, for me personally:

1. Blue Reef Aquarium http://www.bluereefaquarium.co.uk/portsmouth/

2. Hilsea Splash pool – http://www.visitportsmouth.co.uk/things-to-do/hilsea-jubilee-splash-pool-p873341

3. Hilsea Lido – http://www.hilsea-lido.org.uk/

4. Southsea splash pool – http://www.visitportsmouth.co.uk/things-to-do/southsea-splash-pool-p756511

5. Portchester Castle – http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/portchester-castle/

6. Cumberland house – http://www.portsmouthnaturalhistory.co.uk/

7. City museum – http://www.portsmouthcitymuseums.co.uk/

8. Portsmouth historic dockyard – http://www.historicdockyard.co.uk/

9. Baffins pond – http://www.visitportsmouth.co.uk/things-to-do/baffins-pond-p276431

10. Portsmouth Harbour Tour – http://www.portsmouth-boat-trips.co.uk/

11. Spinnaker Tower – http://www.spinnakertower.co.uk/

12. Canoe Lake – http://www.welcometoportsmouth.co.uk/canoe%20lake%20portsmouth.html

13. Southsea Funfair http://www.clarencepier.co.uk/

14. Crazy Caves – http://www.visitportsmouth.co.uk/things-to-do/krazy-kaves-p269711

15. Fuzzy Ed’s – http://www.fuzzyeds.co.uk/location/sovereigns

16. The Pyramids Swimming Pool – http://www.pyramids.co.uk/

17. D-Day Museum – http://www.ddaymuseum.co.uk/

18. Royal Marines Museum – http://www.royalmarinesmuseum.co.uk/

19. Southsea Castle – http://www.southseacastle.co.uk/

20. Foxes forest/Hilsea Lines – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hilsea_Lines or http://www.visitportsmouth.co.uk/things-to-do/hilsea-lines-p276581

21. Sensory Garden in Fareham – http://www.fareham.gov.uk/leisure/discover_fareham/sengarden.aspx

Parks in Portsmouth
http://www.welcometoportsmouth.co.uk/portsmouth%20parks.html
1. Alexandra Park
2. Baffins Pond
3. Bransbury Park
4. Canoe Lake
5. College Park
6. Hilsea Lines
7. Milton Park
8. Ravelin Park
9. Southsea Seafront
10. Victoria Park

Parks in Surrounding Areas (Gosport, Fareham, etc)
Gosport – http://www.gosport.gov.uk/sections/environment/horticulture/parks-and-open-spaces/
Gosport Play Areas – http://www.gosport.gov.uk/sections/environment/horticulture/play-areas/
Fareham Borough:
http://www.fareham.gov.uk/leisure/parks_and_open_spaces/play_areas/playareasmap.aspx

Local Beaches
http://www.britishbeaches.info/beaches/hampshire
http://www.britishbeaches.info/beaches/west-sussex

P.S The basis of this list came from a local mummy on a facebook group. I simply added some extras and found links to all of them!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Baby in the Sunshine

British baby living in Dubai

Dallas Decoder

Between the Lines and Behind the Scenes of "Dallas"

ColleysWobbles

Riding the wave that is life...wobbles and all

Snot On My Jumper

...and other tales of parenthood

Scarlett and Me

Fashion and beauty for mums and their babes by Faye Jacobs

Dear Mummy Blog

The travellings of Baby Isabella

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Can I Breastfeed In It?

Motherhood - made up by me

My journey of motherhood of my daughter and how I make it all up as I go along

A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

My challenge for 2015: try something new every day for a whole year.

%d bloggers like this: